Twin Peaks Revisited

Time flies by, here it is May 1, 2013 and summer is closing fast.  I ended 2012 hitting the 85 peak mark with the Oregon highest 100 peaks list, for those counting that means I only have 15 peaks left.  15 peaks…definitely a do able number for 2013 when you consider one third of the 15 are located around Crater Lake and could possibly be climbed in a day.  On the other end of the spectrum I still have a couple difficult peaks to summit, Twin Peaks and North Sister.

A couple weeks ago I decided to attempt Twin Peaks, for the second time.  I know it’s early in the season, but I wanted to see if it was possible to make an early season ascent on the peak while the rotten rock summit was frozen in place with snow piled up on the east side.  Unfortunately I was unsuccessful on my attempt.  The days prior to my attempt were filled with cloudy skies and accumulating snow in the higher elevations which meant difficult conditions for climbing.  I knew going into the weekend that the possiblity of pulling off the attempt were quite low, but for someone dealing with cabin fever I was willing to take a shot.

Due to the deep snow and warm conditions I was only able to reach an elevation slightly above the 8000′ mark.  Although I didn’t reach the summit, I enjoyed an evening out in the mountains under a sky full of stars.

Image
Sunrise on my way back to camp after a predawn start on my summit attempt.

 

At this point I think I’ll wait till mid to late summer to make my third and hopefully final attempt on the summit block of Twin Peaks.

Leave a Reply

