Training And Beyond

It’s update time!  I’ve been a little lazy posting lately, but I haven’t been lazy training for the peaks.  January started with a bang, within the first 31 days of 2012 I’ve managed to hike a total of 65 miles with a max elevation gain of 15,000′ and I swam over 50 miles.  I know you’re thinking it…crazy, right?  All of the effort is geared toward hitting the peaks hard this year and it all starts this weekend.  I have a couple ideas in mind for this weekend, I’m either heading off into the Wallowas to attempt Granite Creek East Peak or over to the Cascades to attempt Ball Butte.  Granite Ck East is over 8600′ with a 10 mile ridge approach while Ball Butte is just over 8000′ with an approx. 5 mile approach.  I’m leaning more toward Ball Butte, but the drive over from the east side of the state isn’t too thrilling.  The weather looks awesome at this point so let’s hope it holds!

Images from January:

Out toward the Columbia Basin
South Fork Walla Walla River
Leave a Reply

