What An Amazing Summer And Fall

I’ve been thinking about this post for a couple weeks now, basically I couldn’t figure out how I would summarize my summer and fall in a single post.  It really is a daunting task to put all of my thoughts and memories of the 47 peaks that I’ve stood on top of in the last four months in a blog post.  Tonight I decided to let the images I’ve taken be my voice.

June 7th I was looking at different peaks online, trying to decide what peaks I would focus my efforts on in the coming summer and I came across a list of peaks.  The list was comprised of the 100 highest peaks in the state of Oregon.  I had no idea on how the list of peaks would affect my life.  For a few days I kept thinking about the list and how incredible it would be to have the opportunity to stand on the highest peaks in the state of Oregon.  Prior to discovering the list I climbed Mt. Hood numerous times along with a few other of the high peaks, but it was the lesser known peaks that intrigued me.  I really don’t think there was an “angels singing” moment, but I did find my self in planning mode.  Looking back at my first blog post on my website I thought if I climbed 20 peaks this year I would be happy and satisfied, boy was I wrong.  I originally thought that it would take 4 years to complete the list and here I am at 46 at the end of October with two months remaining in the year, I will get to 50 before December 31st, 2010.  I’ve adjusted my time line and now my goal is to be finished by the end of September in 2011, I know a little ambitious, but I always love a challenge.

June 18, 2010 – Elkhorn Peak and Rock Creek Butte, Elkhorn Mountains.

 

Twin Lakes below Elkhorn Peak

 

Pine Creek Reservoir

 

June 25th, 2010 – China Cap, Eagle Cap Wilderness Area, Wallowa Mountains.

China Cap

 

July 2, 2010 – Peak 8525, Elkhorn Mountains.

Peak 8528

 

July 16, 2010 – Petes Point and beyond!  Eagle Cap Wilderness Area.

Red Mountain, Sentinel Peak, Cusick Mountain, Krag Peak all from the summit of Petes Point.

 

July 24, 2010 – Crown Point, Elkhorn Mountains.

My son and father taking the final steps up to the summit of Crown Point, a very memorable day.

 

July 30, 2010 – Matterhorn and Sacajawea, Eagle Cap Wilderness Area.

The high points in the Eagle Cap Wilderness Area, such a spectacular location.

 

August 8, 2010 – Red Mountain, Elkhorn Mountains. (The gem of the Elkhorns)

Red Mountain Lake and Red Mountain. I climbed the Red Mountain in the Wallowas along with the Red Mountain in the Elkhorns in the same weekend with Caleb.

 

August 13, 2010 – Eagle Cap, Eagle Cap Wilderness Area.

Sunrise from the summit of Eagle Cap, a peak I've been wanting to climb for years!

 

August 21, 2010 – Chimney Lake, Eagle Cap Wilderness Area.

Climbed three peaks from the list and enjoyed great company from Steve and Tara, I can't wait to go back!

 

September 3, 2010 – Traverse Lake, Eagle Cap Wilderness Area.

Traverse Lake with Echo Lake Northwest Peak in the background. Slept under the stars next to the lake and watched the sun rise over the Horn.

 

September 10th, 2010 – Peak 8880, Elkhorn Mountains. (My last Elkhorn Peak from the list)

I thought it was quite fitting to take a picture of the first peak I climbed in the Elkhorn Range from the summit of my last peak in the Elkhorns off the list.

 

September 18, 2010 – China Cap, Eagle Cap Wilderness Area.

China Cap, taken from the ridge leading to the summit of Granite Butte.

 

September 24, 2010 – Kiger/Mann Ridge, Steens Mountains.

A Kiger sunrise. The sunrise hike along Kiger Canyon to the high point is definitely one of the top ten for the year.

 

October 2, 2010 – South Sister, Three Sisters Wilderness Area.  (Third Highest Mountain In Oregon)

Along the crest of the Cascades. Middle and North Sister from the summit of South Sister.

 

October 15, 2010 – Monument Rock, Monument Rock Wilderness Area.

Even though Monument Rock isn't on the list, Bullrun the peak directly to the northwest is. Monument Rock was a bonus for sure!

 

Just another four peaks and I’ll be at the halfway mark!  Snow is already falling in the high country so my trips will be limited to close accessible peaks.

I’m actually looking forward to the challenges winter will bring, time to dust off the snowshoes!

 

 

Leave a Reply

